Still Sore

Hello!

The day after my crazy workout in the rain, I mentioned how I would be throwing myself into another crazy workout with my brother. What am I thinking? Well, if I haven’t mentioned before, he was a Marine for 7 years and just finished, and has been a Correctional Officer at the worst prison in MA, plus he does all kind of races like Tough Mudder and Spartan Race. Needless to say, he’s a workout fiend and I guess I follow in his footsteps. BUT, you haven’t had a workout until you worked out with my brother. Seriously.

I unfortunately didn’t get any pictures during the workout Saturday but it wasn’t a pretty site anyways.

You can picture it by yourself anyways. We met at 730am at a park and right after a quick stretch and warm up we started right away… and it was basically non-stop movement for the next 2 hours. The park is also a golf course and has steep hills where families come during the winter to go sledding. Running up those hills more times than I can count was not fun in the least bit.

Overall we ran only 3.02 miles according to my Garmin for 60 minutes. But we would stop every so often to do pushups, mountain climbers, burpees, hand crawls (you know when someone holds your feet and you walk with your hands), backwards crawls, Going off the running course to sprint up some hills, more pushups, you get the point.

Towards the end of our run, my brother decided it was time for body carries. Uhm, what? Not to mention that I was the only girl there. So I figured I was going to sit this one out.

Oh the things you learn to do in the military.

Source

But guess what? I did it. I carried my 175lb basically all muscle brother about 25 yards. I am badass. I love when you think you can’t do something, but then even you surprise yourself. That was totally worth being sore for.

Unfortunately, this wasn’t even the end of the workout. When we got back to where we parked, it was time for some weight lifting. I was ready for this because I know this is how my brother usually does these crazy Saturday morning workouts, so I brought some of my recovery formula and drank that before heading into the weights.

He made us do 3 rounds of 6 workouts, basically without stopping. Again, this must be another thing he learned from the damn military because my brother does not enjoy breaks, never mind other people taking breaks.

So the exercises included some ab stuff, sledge hammer hits into the ground, kettlebell swings, sandbag pulls, deadlifts with 2 bars. The 2 bars were 95lbs and 35lbs. The 35lb bar was meant for Olympic Snatches but I’m not strong enough for those… yet!

Source

Then, we finally ended with 3 minutes straight of planks. I wanted to die. You try holding a plank for 3 minutes. J

When I got home, I was just so tired and felt depleted of energy.

This called for some yummy post workout food.

Are you surprised to see yet another Omlet? And for some carbs, I had a banana nut muffin my mom made!

And then since I was so exhausted, of course I had to make a Marylou’s stop.

I seriously feel so bad for all of you who don’t live in MA or haven’t experienced Marylou’s iced coffee yet. Please put it on your list of things to do before you die!

Besides that, of course I took a rest day yesterday and today I’m going right back into another crazy workout with my brother later on this afternoon. JOY

Okay, see ya later! Lots of studying to do… it’s midterm time. :-/

 

Good Reads:

Weight Loss Suggestions For Runners

Best Songs for Running

Pumpkin Spice Oatmeal

 

Question:

What’s the toughest workout you’ve done lately?

What’s a place in your state that you absolutely love, that might not be in another state? (Ex: Marylou’s is only in MA and RI).

 

About Lisa

My name is Lisa and I am a junior in college majoring in Communication Disorders. I plan to go to graduate school for SLP. I am 20 years old and trying my best to live a fun, healthy and active lifestyle. I love to workout and I've recently found a new love for running and I will be in my first race this May. I've just started blogging, so bare with me as I try to get better at it! I enjoy blogging a lot and I love reading other people's blogs and learning about them and their lifestyle. That's about it for now, thanks for reading :-)
Gallery | This entry was posted in Banana Nut Muffin, Breakfast, eggs, Family, Garmin, Iced Coffee, Kettlebell, Leg Workout, Marylou's, Military Carry, Olympic Snatch, post workout meal, Pumpkin, Race, Running, Spartan Race, Tough Mudder, Weight Loss For Runners, Workout. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Still Sore

  1. Courtney says:

    The toughest workout outside of tri training that I’ve done recently was a 1-on-1 boxing session that I did last Monday. I learned so much; it was fantastic!

    One place that I ❤ that isn't found nationwide is Tijuana Flats. It was started by a UCF grad, so I think I maaay be partial. It's good food, though, and a fun, chill environment! 🙂

  2. Alexandra says:

    Ahhh give me your omelette!! Dang that bad boy looks good 😀
    Toughest workout I’ve done lately was my leg day last week–I had major butt doms all weekend haha

    • Lisa says:

      haha right?! I love my omlets! And the one thing that makes them 100 times better is franks red hot sauce if you like spicey stuff!! and Ice baths always help with my legs after a workout 🙂

  3. Here I am complaining about being sore today because of a tiny little hill workout yesterday when you actually had a genuine tough workout! I hate burpees! And hold a plank for 3 minutes?! Yowza. Nicely done!

    Mary Lou’s coffee looks pretty awesome. I’ll take your word for it and put it on my bucket list. 😉

  4. Oh man there is so much for me to discover here that I dont know what is unique to here yet, but i CAN tell you one thing I miss about Alaska that was semi-unique to there. 2 things actually. And one is coffee carts. the drive through kind. I worked at one for 4 years (part time with my other job) and it was amazing coffee. i miss that. i also didnt realize that other places dont stock halibut in their grocery stores. you can get halibut pretty much year round in alaska (though it is expensive in the off season) they dont even stock it here. I miss it!

  5. Tara says:

    Can your brother be my personal trainer?! That sounds intense!! I bet that omelet tasted AMAZING afterwards. I love Mack & Manco pizza at the jersey shore. It’s not even that good pizza. It’s just the memories associated with it!

    • Lisa says:

      haha come visit MA! he’ll gladly give you an intense workout! and that’s awesome that you get to visit the jersey shore lol do you live close to it? I bet there must be a lot of crazy tourists, especially after the show!

  6. Lenna (veganlenna) says:

    OK, you are officialy the strongest girl I “know” 🙂 I really like when people, especially girls, aren´t affraid of having some muscle definition. The obsession with skin and bones has gone too far and it´s time to see some real bodies 🙂

  7. Can we hang out? Seriously?

    Haha these workouts sound amazing. You are an animal. I love it.

    And omeletes? You can never get enough of em. Never. Keep eating them girl 😉

Comment!

