Weekend Recap

Hello! This weekend consisted of a lot of running around, studying and doing homework, and curing a hangover (hence why I was able to post too much!) 😉

But I will give you a little more of a recap!

On Friday, I continued with my Insanity workout and completed Pure Cardio. I also went on a 16 mile bike ride with my brother (that was not expected, because if it was, I would of been lazy and not of done my Insanity workout!).

We didn’t really stop at all (because you know, boys need to be bad-ass and do everything fast–thanks brother). But I did stop once to take a picture!

For our bike ride, my brother and I rode from my house to my aunt and uncles house which totaled 16 miles round trip! When we first got there, we made the mistake of visiting for too long and relaxing. But I can’t leave out the goodies I ate to fuel for the ride back home!

First up:

Chocolate milk! The best thing after a workout, I swear. You could of course substitute real milk for almond (my favorite) rice, or another non-dairy.

And my little cousin, Samantha and I also made natural popcorn!

Natural Popcorn (homemade):

½ cup kernals

1 tbsp popcorn oil

Directions:

Using a saucepan, pour popcorn oil in and bring heat to medium.

Pour ½ cup of kernals into the pan

Cover and let sit for about 10-12 minutes

Frequently check on popcorn to make sure it doesn’t burn (Pick up off heater and shake a few times to help with the “popping”).

And tah-dah! Natural homemade popcorn! If you’re feeling naughty, you could drizzle some melted butter on top. Or you could have some dark chocolate chips on the side for a sweet and salty combo.

Even though I enjoyed visiting and making popcorn, it did not help with our 8 mile ride back home. Our legs felt like jello and really hated us for doing that. Especially since neither of us stretched on our little break. Needless to say, Saturday was a rest day! It was also operation: help lisa cure hangover day. Friday night I went out with some friends and I drank a wee bit too much vodka and cranberry juice (but such a winning combination). Unfortunately, those pictures will not be making the blog! 😀

I have to admit though, I am pretty proud of myself considering I at least got some homework done, regardless of a hangover. (please don’t think I’m a forever drinking alcoholic constantly mending a hangover! Haha).

But yesterday was good because there was  a lot of relaxing involved! And, I got to sleep extra late this morning 😉

Breakfast was a good one, and an unusual one. I need to have more oatmeal in my life and less Panini’s. J

Oatmeal with chocolate almond butter with chia seeds!

Now I’m off to do my workout! I really wish my ipod wasn’t dead because it’s gorgeous fall weather in New England today!

P.S. Check back in later for a yummy recipe! Horray!

Question: Did you do anything fun and exciting this weekend?? J

About Lisa

My name is Lisa and I am a junior in college majoring in Communication Disorders. I plan to go to graduate school for SLP. I am 20 years old and trying my best to live a fun, healthy and active lifestyle. I love to workout and I've recently found a new love for running and I will be in my first race this May. I've just started blogging, so bare with me as I try to get better at it! I enjoy blogging a lot and I love reading other people's blogs and learning about them and their lifestyle. That's about it for now, thanks for reading :-)
Gallery | This entry was posted in Bike Ride, Biking, Chia Seeds, Homemade Popcorn, Insanity, Leg Workout, Natural Popcorn, New England, Oatmeal, Workout. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weekend Recap

  1. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! says:

    Sounds like a fun weekend!!!!

  2. leashieloo says:

    I’ve actually been having a hankering for popcorn, but don’t have any. 😦 This tears it, adding it to the grocery list!

  3. Lenna (veganlenna) says:

    You can never go wrong with more oatmeal in your life 😀

Comment!

