Most ghetto ice bath ever & recipe

So today I ended up charging my ipod like I said I wanted to so I could go for a run. But geez, after a weekend of partying, my body just doesn’t want to move. So I think I’m gonna call it quits on the partying scene for a while.

Either way, I went out for a run today and the weather was perfect. Just like Fall usually is! I was so excited for my run. For fresh air, have a long run with just my music and my thoughts, but my body did not want me to go far. I only ran 3 miles. But I wanted to go further. Maybe if I try again tomorrow it’ll be better. But what I’d much rather do is a track workout at my old high school! But the track is getting re-done. But this is fine because that means that I’ll be able to run on a brand new track. J

Most ghetto ice bath

After my run today, I really wanted to try an ice bath for some odd reason. I haven’t had one since probably senior year of high school. So I decided why not! It was cold, but it wasn’t too bad.

Unfortunately I decided on an ice bath a little too late and we didn’t have any ice handy… so it called for some drastic measures.

I used ice packs and frozen water bottles! Haha ghetto, but successful.

Smiling through the cold

My niece and nephew were over to witness my ice bath and they loved taking pictures. They thought it was silly, and they thought I was crazy for doing it.

After my ice bath I had plans to make homemade zucchini bread and I had 2 little helpers. J They did a great job and the bread turned out awesome!

 

 

& we were all pretty excited about the outcome!

I added some earthbalance to my slice!

Delicious… & very filling!

Homemade Zucchini Bread:

2 cups zucchini (shredded)

½ cup chopped walnuts

2 eggs

½ cup earth balance butter

½ cup applesauce (I used sugar-free cinnamon)

6 Tbs, brown sugar

¾ cup organic granulated sugar

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp cinnamon

½ teaspoon salt

2 tsps vanilla extract

2 cups whole wheat flour

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Combine all ingredients (leaving flour and zucchini for last)

Pour mixture into a greased or foil covered bread pan

Bake for 45-50 minutes or until a knife comes out clean

So good! J

Enjoy the rest of your night?

Questions:

What’s the last homemade thing you made??

Have you ever taken an ice bath? What are your thoughts on them?

About Lisa

My name is Lisa and I am a junior in college majoring in Communication Disorders. I plan to go to graduate school for SLP. I am 20 years old and trying my best to live a fun, healthy and active lifestyle. I love to workout and I've recently found a new love for running and I will be in my first race this May. I've just started blogging, so bare with me as I try to get better at it! I enjoy blogging a lot and I love reading other people's blogs and learning about them and their lifestyle. That's about it for now, thanks for reading :-)
Gallery | This entry was posted in Ice Bath, Recipe, Running, Uncategorized, Workout. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Most ghetto ice bath ever & recipe

  1. Courtney says:

    Haha, I still have yet to take an ice bath, but I like your ghetto version! By the way, your niece and nephew are precious. 🙂

  2. Tara says:

    You know my thoughts on ice baths 🙂 recovery technique of the gods! painful, but so so so worth it. Even if you have to do it all ghetto like you did. I’m proud of you.

    Your niece and nephew are adorable. I love baking with kids. They’re so much fun and the littlest things make them happy!

  3. Lenna (veganlenna) says:

    Eww, ice bath, I have never had any. I don´t think I could survive it 😀 Thanks for the recipe, nothing beats a good homemade zucchini bread 🙂

  4. The Teenage Taste says:

    Haha, I’ve taken MANY ghetto ice baths! At least they get the job done. 😉

  5. Pingback: Crazy Workout In The Rain | chocolatepbcups

Comment!

