People At The Gym

This morning was the same good old morning, as usual. I woke up this and enjoyed a smoothie while doing some beachbody work online and catching up on some blog lovin’.

Seriously… Obsessed with these Shakeology smoothies that I make. And the best part? It’s a ridiculous amount of spinach and I can’t taste it at all. 😉

After breakfast I chilled out for a little while and finally decided it was time for another Insanity workout. Today’s workout was Cardio Power & Resistance. It’s a great workout because it’s not just boring cardio (well, I don’t think Insanity is boring at all, just sayin’) but this workout was cool because it did a lot of regular strength exercises like push ups and tricep dips.

After my workout, I was cravin’ some carbs, so it started off like this..

But then I added some scrambled egg whites and spinach and this bad boy was created..

Such a delicious post workout meal! 😉      

After my workout, I hung around the house with my niece Lexi.

She’s so cute J

And we watched Beauty & the Beast! (YES, that was on TV today!!)

People At The Gym

A little while later, I started getting bored so I decided to go to the gym! I’ve just been doing home workouts lately, so I felt like a trip to the gym was a good idea.

When I got there, I chose to do a leg work out and started it off with a warm up included jump rope, bosu ball jumps, and lunges.

Then I went off to complete this leg workout: (All with 12 reps x 3) And for each exercise, I lift as much as I can for 12 reps.

Leg Extensions

Kick Backs

Standing calf raises

Leg presses

Sitting calf raises

Lunges with 15 lb dumbbells

Then after that, I started heading over to the treadmills when I ran into a guy that also goes to my gym and he is THE definition of a social butterfly.

While I was doing my leg workout, he was just hangin’ around the gym talking to someone else. Maybe that’s what I don’t like. When I go to the gym, I want to work. I don’t like to just kind of float around the gym and socialize, but this guy does.

He stopped me and immediately just stirred up a conversation. In particular, he was asking me all kinds of questions about races like Warrior Dash, because I had told him before that I ran one on May.

Don’t get me wrong, this guy is very nice. But one of the reasons I feel that I hate having full on conversations with people at the gym is because I lose my gym rhythm.

30 minutes later…

I finally got away from the conversation! But now by this time, my heart rate was back to normal, I lost my gym flow, and my body was yelling at me for recovery food. Plus, it was pushing back my time (not that I had anything to do anyways).

I still managed to bust out 15 minutes on the treadmill with some sprint intervals. Then I called it quits for the day and headed home.

Questions:

Are you a social butterfly at the gym? It is completely fine if you are! Or are you more like me and prefer to keep to yourself and have your alone time?

And, what was your favorite Disney movie classic?! I would have to say my favorite is the Lion King, with the Little Mermaid at a very close second!

Enjoy your weekend friends!

About Lisa

My name is Lisa and I am a junior in college majoring in Communication Disorders. I plan to go to graduate school for SLP. I am 20 years old and trying my best to live a fun, healthy and active lifestyle. I love to workout and I've recently found a new love for running and I will be in my first race this May. I've just started blogging, so bare with me as I try to get better at it! I enjoy blogging a lot and I love reading other people's blogs and learning about them and their lifestyle. That's about it for now, thanks for reading :-)
Gallery | This entry was posted in Disney Movies, eggs, Food, Insanity, Leg Workout, Lunch, People At The Gym, post workout meal, Race, Shakeology, spinach, Workout. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to People At The Gym

  1. Haha, I am definitely like you at the gym! Luckily, I work out at 5AM with all the other serious folks, so besides a brief “good morning, how’s it going?” there isn’t much talk. It’s a mutual understanding that we’re all there to do work before the workday starts.

    And, uhm, you’ve also stolen my favorite Disney movies! In fact, I like Lion King so much that I am DEFINITELY going to see it in 3D sometime in the next two weeks for its short release. 🙂

    • Lisa says:

      haha good I’m glad I’m not the only one because I kind of felt mean for saying that! lol but same here, i can’t wait to see the Lion King in 3D! 🙂

Comment!

