How To Stop Snacking At Night

I don’t know about all of you, but one of my own biggest obstacles is snacking at night time. And then you feel like a total failure because eating clean all day and your workout seems like it went to “waste”. Sometimes I really might be hungry, but it’s mostly out of boredom, or even just a bad habit I would assume.

So, snacking at night obviously isn’t a good decision (especially since most of the time it’s crap, and not vegetables). But I commend anyone who would choose a vegetable to snack on at night!..With that being said, I’ve done some research of my own and have taken into account my own habits that I formed and why they happened.

Here are my own tips!

First, if you’re snacking at night, recalculate what you ate during the day. I noticed that I tend to snack more at night when I’m not eating enough during the day. For example, my summer job requires me to leave my house right at lunch time, aka I eat just a granola bar for lunch or something small on the go. Sometimes I skip lunch all together because I sleep in, then workout and my post workout meal is in between breakfast/lunch….Good thing I only have 2 weeks left until my summer job ends! So, make sure your eating enough during the day!

Eat small meals, every 2 1/2-3 hours Sometimes this is easier said then done. But if you know your going to be out, then take food with you like I do. I bring a lunch box (yup it’s big and pink & you’re jealous) to work with me and I always carry stuff like apples, granola bars, dark chocolate, green tea, lots of water, nuts, etc.

Eat Breakfast This has to be my favorite time of the day. I don’t know about any of you, but I always always always eat better on days that I eat oatmeal for breakfast. Who knew oatmeal could be so perfect?

Perfect Oatmeal with PB & Chia

 

I like to wear oatmeal too.

 
Not even kidding. Oatmeal (plain) is such an awesome way to exfoliate. Try it for yourself and thank me later. 😉

Get rid of temptation I’m hysterical. This is another “easier said than done” one. Honestly, if oreos are in my house, I’ll find them and I’ll eat them. I should of named my blog “cookie monster”. The oreos just can’t be there. Sometimes I think it will be so much easier when I live in my own place because I won’t ever buy cookies and snacks. I won’t buy them, but I will eat them if they’re just casually lying around my kitchen. So, get rid of it if you’re as bad as I am.

Have a drink Not alcoholic, but you can if you really want to. Sometimes your brain can play tricks on you and you might think your hungry but you actually might just be thirsty. So try drinking a glass of water or tea.

If you still need a snack… Make it a good one. Choose something like an apple, a few almonds, dark chocolate, string cheese, etc. But be careful, because one snack can turn into two.. then three.. and so on.

Remember, the calories aren’t worth it If none of the above have worked for you thus far, then remind yourself that those calories aren’t worth it. And those 2 minutes of indulgence is going to make you feel worse, not better.

That’s about all I got. What are your tips for avoiding snacking at night?

That’s about all I got. What are your tips for avoiding snacking at night? P.S. If you haven’t already, Follow me on Twitter and like my Facebook page! 🙂 And, any questions, send me an email @ chocolatepbcups@yahoo.com or ask me on Formspring!

And, if you haven’t already make sure you check out Katie’s giveaway! Actually, you don’t have to if you don’t want to…(because I want to win!) 😀

About Lisa

My name is Lisa and I am a junior in college majoring in Communication Disorders. I plan to go to graduate school for SLP. I am 20 years old and trying my best to live a fun, healthy and active lifestyle. I love to workout and I've recently found a new love for running and I will be in my first race this May. I've just started blogging, so bare with me as I try to get better at it! I enjoy blogging a lot and I love reading other people's blogs and learning about them and their lifestyle. That's about it for now, thanks for reading :-)
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Exfoliate, Food, Oatmeal, peanut butter, Snacking at night, Temptation, Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How To Stop Snacking At Night

  1. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! says:

    HAHA That pic is hilarious!! I never thought of using oatmeal as a facial product LOL!

  2. leashieloo says:

    LOL on the oatmeal mask 🙂 Food is great as a multitasker, I like to use sugar and vaseline to exfoliate my lips.

Comment!

