Veggie Roll Ups

Hello!

Today is my moms birthday, so happy birthday mom! 🙂

me & mumma 🙂

 
We had a family party at our house, which was fun and as always filled with lots of fun, laughs, and food!
 
But lately, I was thinking about how I wanted to contribute something to the party — food wise. Most people always bring one or two dishes to a party, and I wanted to finally make something on my own as well. So I first had to think what the hell am I going to make?
 
I knew right away that I wanted to make some kind of healthy dessert, and I was torn between a recipe from Katie, and one from Julie. I ultimately chose to make Julie’s Peanut Butter Protein Bars. Which are….unbelievable. I’ve made them before, and I am a huge fan so I decided to make them again! Plus, I’ve already had my eye on a few of Katie’s recipes that I can’t wait to try in the future!
 
But, a dessert wasn’t all I wanted to contribute.. So I tried being creative.
 
First, I knew it was going to be vegetarian. Next, I was thinking some kind of sandwich. So, I went to the store and got some Smart Veggie Bacon, Veggie Mozzarrella cheese, a red onion, spinach, eggs, and whole wheat tortillas. Then I threw it all together!
 
But, I did a little research and I wanted some kind of dressing to go with it and here’s what it all came up to be…
 
Veggie Roll Ups
 
5 Tbsp. red wine vinegar
1/4 cup lite sour cream
2 Tbsp. sugar
2 tsp. chopped parsley
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. garlic, minced
1 tsp extra virgin olive oil
1/2 tsp. dry mustard
veggie mozzarella cheese(as much as desired)
1 package whole wheat tortillas
1 package smart veggie bacon
1/2 cup red onion thinly sliced
4 hard cooked eggs, sliced
 
Directions
 
For dressing, mix the first 8 ingredients listed (in bold). It will appear light pink, then set aside.
 
Divide dry ingredients among tortillas. (I added spinach first, followed by onion, bacon, cheese, then egg).
 
Drizzle the dressing onto each tortilla before wrapping up
 
Next, I wrapped up the tortilla and put 2 toothpicks in the sandwich, then cut it in half, for mini veggie roll ups!
 
 
I was so excited these were a huge hit! 🙂
About Lisa

My name is Lisa and I am a junior in college majoring in Communication Disorders. I plan to go to graduate school for SLP. I am 20 years old and trying my best to live a fun, healthy and active lifestyle. I love to workout and I've recently found a new love for running and I will be in my first race this May. I've just started blogging, so bare with me as I try to get better at it! I enjoy blogging a lot and I love reading other people's blogs and learning about them and their lifestyle. That's about it for now, thanks for reading :-)
This entry was posted in Birthday, eggs, Family, Food, peanut butter, Recipe, red wine vinegar, smart bacon, spinach, vegetarian, veggie roll ups. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Veggie Roll Ups

  1. leashieloo says:

    Those look so good, no wonder why they were a hit!

  2. Lenna (veganlenna) says:

    You and your mom look so pretty in that picture!! Happy birthday to your mom 🙂
    And I really like those roll-ups, I think my family would appreciate them 🙂

  3. Ally Dyson says:

    Let’s make this the next time you sleepover!

  4. Courtney says:

    Happy birthday to your mom! Also, congrats o your successful dish. 🙂

Comment!

