White Trash

Not people… but a dessert.  😉

But first! I should probably explain why I was MIA. Woops. Well, I started my full time summer job (which I love) and I also started my 2nd summer class (which I don’t love), & still trying to maintain my exercise routine and a social life. I do love blogging, but sometimes there just isn’t enough time in the day!

Social Life = Sissy K's in Boston 😉

Okay back to dessert.

It’s called White Trash. I’m pretty sure my mom invented it (the dessert, not the name!) Her friend at work actually nicknamed the dessert White Trash, and I think it might be because it’s cheap & includes only 3 ingredients & takes little effort/time to make! And, it’s delicious.

Unfortunetly, it’s not Vegan. I tried to duplicate this dessert with a Vegan variation and it was a fail. But there is a good possibility that this is because I also suck at baking! So feel free to try this dessert with Vegan butter and Vegan chocolate chips (however, be warned, milk chocolate just doesn’t get any better for this dessert!)

Even if you don’t try to make it Vegan, you can still create healthier options. When it comes to dessert, my mom and I are complete opposites. She likes to make things the old fashioned way with butter and whole milk, etc. As oppossed to me, where I always try  to make some kind of variation (smart balance, rice milk, egg replacer, etc.) But either way, here it is and do as you please, but if you bring this to a pahhty, people will love it. And tell them it’s called White Trash. 😉

 

 

White Trash upside down

What you’ll need:

Saltine Crackers

Milk chocolate chips (we use Nestle 12 oz)

1 stick butter

9x 13 baking pan (we just use a cookie sheet with aluminum foil!)

Directions

– Pre- heat oven to 350

– Place saltine crackers in pan side by side, salted side up, next to each other (not overlapping)

– Melt 1 stick of butter in microwave

– Pour melted butter evenly over saltine crackers

– Place in oven for 10 minutes

– Remove from oven and sprinkle chocolate chips over crackers and place back in oven for 5 minutes (but shut oven off!)

– Take out of the oven, and use a spoon to spread the melted chocolate chips over the crackers

– Put in the refrigerator until chocolate hardens, then break apart & enjoy! 🙂

 

Nothing better than the sweet & salty combo! 🙂

Are you good at cooking or baking?

When you bake, do you like to make “healthier” variations, or do you think the original stuff is better for certain foods?

How do you balance your daily routine and blogging? (Seriously though, how?! I don’t consider blogging a chore at all, but sometimes it can be very time consuming with certain posts!)

About Lisa

My name is Lisa and I am a junior in college majoring in Communication Disorders. I plan to go to graduate school for SLP. I am 20 years old and trying my best to live a fun, healthy and active lifestyle. I love to workout and I've recently found a new love for running and I will be in my first race this May. I've just started blogging, so bare with me as I try to get better at it! I enjoy blogging a lot and I love reading other people's blogs and learning about them and their lifestyle. That's about it for now, thanks for reading :-)
This entry was posted in Boston, Dessert, Food, Friends, Fun, Recipe, White Trash. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to White Trash

  1. Jackie says:

    1. that picture of me is heinous, however i am PUMPED i made it on your blog
    2. I’ve made that recipe before except added mms, jimmies, nuts, whatever was in the cabinet, and they are BOMBBBB

  2. Courtney says:

    Ah, this recipe is so easy and because of that, right up my alley! Thanks for posting 🙂

  3. leashieloo says:

    I’m cracking up at the name, but I’ve heard of these before! Thanks for the recipe!

  4. The salty sweet combo of flavors definitely would be a winner to me! And love that its called white trash. Too funny!

Comment!

