Harvard Pilgrim 10 K!

I’m so excited to share this experience with all of you. Sorry I didn’t post this sooner and I’ve been MIA for the past couple days. But I recently started a new job and my orientation is ALL DAY for this whole week. So my sleep has been off and my gym schedule is all messed up! But I’ll be back to my regular routine on Monday!

So this past Monday on the 4th, I ran my first 10K race! It was the Harvard Pilgrim Road Race and took place at Gillette Stadium in Foxboro.

Sorry for this obnoxiously awful picture, but I took it while driving (not during the race, I didn’t run with my camera but I wish I did!) I drive through Foxboro everyday on my way to work!

The race was so much fun! First off, Foxboro is such a cute little town. The whole area is actually really nice (surrounding towns like Wrentham, Franklin,  Walpole, Mansfield, Easton, etc.) Those are all just suburban towns. The race was very flat, which was nice and easy to adjust to! I was pretty nervous about the race for a ton of reasons. For one, it was my 1st 10k ever, second, I hadn’t run 6 miles since high school (the furtherst I ran while training was 5 miles), and I was running with Lindsey, who is a naturally amazing endurance runner. But I stayed optimistic and excited! I had 3 goals for this race: 1. Run the entire race, 2. Keep up with Lindsey, and 3. Have fun! And I’m happy to conclude that I accomplished all 3 of those goals!

On the morning of the race, I woke up early and planned on meeting Lindsey there really early to pick up our shirts and numbers. Since I only live 15 minutes away, I obviously got there pretty fast. (BTW, it is so cool to live close to Gillete Stadium—please try to contain your jealousy). 😉  (** And, if your ever in MA, don’t just go to Boston. You all know what a city is right? Ok good. So go to other cool places in MA like Gillette, Cape Cod & Plymouth!)

Anyways, I’m digressing. So I arrived to Gillette with my mom at 8am and met up with Lindsey. I couldn’t believe there were over 3,000 people there!

 

 

& then before the race, I had my mom take a few “practice” pictures, since you know, a lot of older people tend to be technologically challenged. 😉 & I wanted her to be able to take pictures of the race!

My number!

 
So I ended up running with Lindsey of course, but also her brother’s friend Chris!
The 3 of us had a blast together

me, Lindsey, & Chris!

 

Oh look, tallest to shortest! 😉

 

Excited to start!

 
The race started right on time at 9am, but I wish it was earlier. I was sweating before the race even started. It was way to hot outside. New England weather is so weird. One day it’s 60 degrees and the next it’s hot humid and 90 degrees!
 
Then, right before the race started, the three of us realized we were in a bad spot. Meaning, we were all the way back next to the walkers! Woops. So my Garmin didn’t match up with the time on the big screen when we finished. My Garmin said 56 minutes and the race clock said 1:05. So I dunno! 🙂
 
The race course was so pretty! And I think that was what was helping me push through. I felt good to run, like I could run. But it was so miserably hot outside which made it uncomfortable at times. But the energy of the race kept me going and I was proud of myself! I was also proud because I ran with no headphones. Me and Lindsey kept talking to a minimum so ultimately I talked to myself. But I got through it, and had a ton of fun!
 
& at the end of the race I was so mad I didn’t have my camera because we got to run through the Patriots helmet onto the 50 yard line!
 
 
 

sweaty & gross after the race!

 
I’m not sure if this is bad to say, but one of my favorite parts of races is the end! I love all of the food, especially the fruit! It’s basically the perfect thing after a race!
 
All in all, I had such an amazing time and it was a great start to my 4th of July! And I’m officially addicted to races! I just want to sign up for more and more! Too bad I’m a poor college student (this is when I put my sad face on and hope mom & dad will pay—hint hint mom if your reading). 😀
 
Okay I’m off to bed, need to get up early for work. uhhh! How do all of you do this every single day!? 😉
 
 
What’s your favorite part of a race?
What was your first 10K like?
 If you’ve never ran a 10k before, do you want to? Seriously, do it! 🙂
About Lisa

My name is Lisa and I am a junior in college majoring in Communication Disorders. I plan to go to graduate school for SLP. I am 20 years old and trying my best to live a fun, healthy and active lifestyle. I love to workout and I've recently found a new love for running and I will be in my first race this May. I've just started blogging, so bare with me as I try to get better at it! I enjoy blogging a lot and I love reading other people's blogs and learning about them and their lifestyle. That's about it for now, thanks for reading :-)
This entry was posted in Boston, Friends, Fun, Garmin, Goals, Race, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Harvard Pilgrim 10 K!

  1. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! says:

    Looks like a really fun race! Glad you had a good time!

  2. Congrats! You’re becoming a racing fool. 😛 My favorite part of a race is the start; the energy is awesome! However, I also like the commaraderie and encouragement during the race and the sense of accomplishment after. So… all of the above!

  3. Lenna (veganlenna) says:

    Wow! Congrats on running your first 10K! I wish I could go for it as well 🙂

  4. Anna says:

    This post was great to read. It reminds me of when I ran my first 8k- the accomplishment I felt was amazing. (i’m still relatively new to running.) Also, I have been considering Boston in the fall, but will just save my money for cape cod.

Comment!

