Tips on running with friends

This post was inspired by an actual scare. That happened this morning.

I’ve been running a lot lately with Lindsey, who is a natural cross country runner and if it wasn’t for her, I probably wouldn’t run as much as I am. Just recently my friend Vikki started running with us and since we have the 4th of july 10k coming up, we thought it was a good idea to go for a long run today.

I like running with friends for a lot of reasons. It can be good and fun, and really motivate you when you’re struggling.

Source
 

Long run to Lindsey = 8+ miles.. something like that 😉

Long run to me & Vikki = 5 miles  max hahaha

Me & Vikki never liked long runs. ever. We’re soccer players, so we’re more comfortable with speed work and sprinting. I mean yeah of course endurance is good to have for soccer, but you don’t need to be a cross country runner either.

So this mix can be good and bad right? Right.

This morning we met at my house at 630 am and we were going to Borderland for a run but the park was closed 😦 so instead we went to my high school and did a long run that we used to have to do in high school. This run is probably about 5.5 miles (I didn’t turn my Garmin on right away).

So anyways, we were more than halfway with our run, Lindsey was leading, I was right behind her, and Vikki behind me. We were just past 3.5 miles and I was moving out of my comfort zone and since we don’t run with headphones when we run together, I was trying to talk myself through it. I caught myself in a mental fight between my head and my body and I wanted to stop but I was telling myself to suck it up. I was trying so hard to focus on my own breathing that I lost sight of what was going on around me. I remember tuning back into what was going on and I realized I didn’t hear anything behind me, and when I glanced over my shoulder, Vikki was gone. It was like she just disappeared into thin air.  At this point we were on a main road and could see about a 1/2 mile and still no sight of Vikki. We were unsure of what to do and since the car was a little less than a mile away, we decided to get to the car asap and then go look for her. When we got back to the car, we drove away to retrace our steps but she was no where. No sight of Vikki anywhere. My stomach started turning because I was so confused and I started scolding myself, “Well maybe if I wasn’t so caught up in my head  I would have noticed that she stopped“. And then Lindsey & I kept wondering why she didn’t say “wait guys, I need a break” or something like that.

After looking for her was unsuccesful, we went back to my high school and waited for 10 minutes and still no sign of her. I called my mom in panic mode and so my mom got in her car to go look for her too (since I didn’t want to leave the high school again in case she came back). Luckily, my mom called me a few minutes later and Vikki had walked to my house. phew. She was safe. She ended up getting back to where my car was while we were out looking for her, and then she decided to just walk back to my house, where her car was.

When we lost her in the run she said she had gotten sick and had to stop. She walked a little bit and then went into a Dunkin Donuts and that’s why we couldn’t see her.

 So after this happened, we all decided that we need to be more attuned to eachother when we run. And now, I’ve decided it would be a good idea to come up with a list that would prevent this from happening again.

1st – Make sure everyone is aware that your all most likely at different running levels. Like I said before, Lindsey is the runner in our group. Running is hard work for me and Vikki, while Lindsey has said before that she’s “in Heaven” while she runs. I think she’s crazy. 😉

2nd – Know the exact route where you are running. This way if anyone does get lost, you all know where you are and how to get back to the starting point.

3rd – Memorize phone numbers. Since we don’t run with our phones, it’s a good idea to know at least one person’s number in the group, that way if you need to stop at a restaurant or something, you can call that person.

4th – Don’t be afraid to say “wait” . If you need a break in your group, speak up. When you don’t like Vikki did, you could fall behind and it could turn out worse.

5th- Be attuned to eachother.  I like to thank my half deafness for this one. Even with running without headphones, I still managed not to process the fact that I didn’t hear Vikki behind me. Pay attention. If someone is behind you, make sure they stay behind you without stopping completely. If they do stop, make sure you do too.

6th – If you do lose someone, stay calm. Me and Lindsey stayed calm, but we were still nervous too. If we had freaked out completely, then it would of been worse for everyone. When you get anxious nothing good generally comes from that.

7th – Stay at the starting point. Instead of going to look for Vikki, it would have been a much better idea if Lindsey stayed, while I went driving to look for her. That way when Vikki got back she wouldn’t of thought we just left her stranded.

So I know this isn’t much, but it’s all good ideas. There are too many creepy people in the world now a days, so make sure you keep yourself safe, whether your running in a group, and especially if you run alone.

But one of the best tips I could probably give is to have fun running. Like Phoebe does. 😉

 

Question: Do you run alone or with friends? Has anything like this ever happened to you? What did you do/or what would you do?

About Lisa

My name is Lisa and I am a junior in college majoring in Communication Disorders. I plan to go to graduate school for SLP. I am 20 years old and trying my best to live a fun, healthy and active lifestyle. I love to workout and I've recently found a new love for running and I will be in my first race this May. I've just started blogging, so bare with me as I try to get better at it! I enjoy blogging a lot and I love reading other people's blogs and learning about them and their lifestyle. That's about it for now, thanks for reading :-)
This entry was posted in Friends, Fun, Random, Running, Scary, Tips, Workout. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tips on running with friends

  1. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! says:

    Thank god your friend was alright!!! That would have been so awful!!!

    Glad you all have developed a plan for next time!

  2. evafitness says:

    Hey! Thanks for your comment! It’s so nice to read about someone who thinks five miles is a long run, like me 🙂 Good luck on the 10k on Monday!! I will be waiting for a race report !! Can’t wait to read more!

  3. Tara says:

    I’ve had experiences like that! It’s the type of thing where you can feel your heart beating so hard because you get so nervous. In track we try to find at least two or three people that run the same pace so we can have one person stay back if someone is hurt or sick while the other goes to tell the coach or get help. No runner left behind!

Comment!

