Goals

Hey everybody! It felt good to take some time away from blogging but I have a very good excuse!

A lot has been happening lately. A lot of things I love.

Running

First, I have found a new love for running. It’s actually something I’m beginning to enjoy. I took your comments and advice from myΒ Help with RunningΒ post and all of it has helped! So thank you πŸ™‚

And I’ll let you know since the last time I posted, I ran in a Firefighter’s 5K road race (I’ll make a new post about this when I get all the pics together!) , and I signed up for a 10k road race on the 4th of July!Β 

I’m especially excited for the race on the 4th of July which I am running with Lindsey! Also, it’s starting and ending at Gillette stadium on the 50 yard line. How cool is that? Anyone else from the Boston area doing that race?!

My goal was to run a few races this summer. I’m already signed up for my 3rd. I’m already addicted. After my 5k road race, I came home and started immediately searching for more races to sign up for.Β My next few goals with running? Sign up for a half marathon, triathalon, and tough mudder! It’s all gonna happen, ya know. πŸ˜‰ Oh, and I should add that I want to become a better runner! Hello hills & fartleks. 😦

Vegetarian/Vegan

haha πŸ˜‰

I can’t tell you all how different I feel after becoming vegetarian (eating mostly vegan, not at that point yet!) I’m sure most of you wonder why I became vegetarian, just like almost everyone does. I can’t really tell you. Health benefits mostly. But one morning I literally woke up and just decided I didn’t want to eat meat anymore. And it’s been one of the best decisions. I pay so much more attention to food and ingredients and even cooking! I feel physically better and my workouts thrive. Food no longer weighs me down but instead fuels me. I’ve taken time to look up information online and in books so I can continue with my knowledge of the whole vegan world.

But don’t get me wrong, I am still a newbie. Tofu scares me a little bit and going out to eat isn’t really fun anymore. Plus, my body adapted so fast to my change in diet that I ate a dessert my mom baked (with a real stick of butter instead of using my vegan butter like I told her to) and I immediately felt sick. I’ve only been doing this for a month, not even! I just want to make sure my body is being fully nourished and I’m getting everything I need!

My goals for my diet is to be open to trying new vegan foods. So far so good. And little by little transition into an all vegan diet. So far it has made a world of a difference for me!

New goals for the rest of the summer: (Besides running & food)

Go camping

Go to a carnival/fair (a good one)

Start studying & register for the GRE… errrr.. someone else wanna do this for me?

Become more organized… HELP.

Save money

Do something crazy like skydiving or white water rafting!

Ride a dirt bike without falling

Bake a vegan cake and enjoy it.

Visit Roger Williams zoo in Providence

Go into Boston more, I mean it is only 20 minutes away.

Try vegan restaurants

Go see a movie at the drive in

And that’s about all I can think of, but that’s a good list so far right?! And yes I noticed that basically all of these are activities. What can I say, I wanna make sure I have a fun summer ’11! πŸ™‚

Question: What are your goals for the summer? Do you set new goals daily, weekly or monthly?

About Lisa

My name is Lisa and I am a junior in college majoring in Communication Disorders. I plan to go to graduate school for SLP. I am 20 years old and trying my best to live a fun, healthy and active lifestyle. I love to workout and I've recently found a new love for running and I will be in my first race this May. I've just started blogging, so bare with me as I try to get better at it! I enjoy blogging a lot and I love reading other people's blogs and learning about them and their lifestyle. That's about it for now, thanks for reading :-)
This entry was posted in Fun, Goals, Running, Uncategorized, Vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Goals

  1. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! says:

    Sounds like you’re gonna have a ton of fun this summer!

    So happy that running is going well for ya! Such a big accomplishment!

  2. Kelsey says:

    Sounds like your 5k went much better than my first! haha, I was adamant that I was never going to run another race after mine last fall. Luckily, I got over that quickly and ran in a 10k a few weeks ago and had the same feeling of having to go sign up for more races! If only I could get a sponsor to pay for them all… πŸ˜‰

    And don’t be afraid of tofu! I definitely was at the beginning (just a couple months ago) but if you prepare it correctly it’s delicious! You’ll have to try out tempeh at some point too – it’s actually easier to prepare as you don’t have to press it or anything out of the package.

    I wish that there were more vegan restaurants in my area – it makes everything so much easier to not have to worry about anything! I’m allergic to dairy and so many ‘vegetarian entrees’ seem to be cheese-filled at normal restaurants… and now with my other intolerances it makes eating out of the house so annoying!

    Sorry for the long comment haha – I love reading about others who have the same view on diet & exercise as I do!

    • Lisa says:

      Thanks Kelsey! I’m glad you enjoy running too πŸ™‚ But yeah so true, races can get expensive so having a sponser would be nice!!
      I have tried tempeh and it’s delicious! It is so easy to cook and I usally make it in some sort of stir fry! & I think what scares me most about tofu is that I have no idea what to do with it. How do you prepare it?

      I’ve looked online and there are a ton of vegan restaurants in Boston, so I can’t wait to try them out! But so true, eating out feels more like a hassel now than anything.
      & no problem, I love comments! I’m the same way!

  3. Kelsey says:

    This post is really informative! Once you do it a few times it won’t be as strange anymore ;). Good luck!
    http://www.dailygarnish.com/2010/01/how-to-a-tofu-tutorial.html

Comment!

