On a new quest

I don’t think I’ve ever mentioned this on the blog before. But I used to be a vegetarian.

Vegetarian Background:

I was vegetarian for a year, thanks to one of my good friends, Emily. We worked together at Subway (ha) and she was vegetarian. Emily & I became close and I accidentally picked up her eating habits. Has that ever happened to any of you? I didn’t mean to become vegetarian, but I did, and before I knew it I was eating veggie subs at work and refusing turkey burgers (which were my favorite).

This was senior year in high school. At first, vegetarianism didn’t do much for me. I was young and didn’t really know or care to learn how to cook. Pshh, that’s what my mom was for. Right? I don’t know, a lot of you love to cook so maybe I’m on my own! But then again, this was also 3 years ago. Basically, since I didn’t experiment with vegetarian cooking and just avoided meat, I seriously struggled with my athletics. I played varsity soccer and ran varsity track at this time.

If you’re wondering, I did not lose a ton of weight or adapt an eating disorder. I actually maintained my weight because I just didn’t eat meat. This didn’t limit me to cookies, ice cream, bread, etc. Therefore, I struggled with my athletics because I wasn’t getting adequate nutrition. I approached vegetarianism the wrong way.

Why I ate meat again:

I went away to college that fall. I couldn’t live off of salad and pizza. Especially salad. I commend anyone who does that. I wish I could.

I remember the first time I ate meat again. It had been a year. And of course I was drunk and that damn turkey club with french fries just sounded fantastic alongside my fellow drunk college friends who were also getting late night food. And so it happened. I got sick too. But I’m not sure if that was because of the alcohol or the turkey and bacon. Maybe both?

But then I started eating meat again. I kind of missed itย  I guess. I felt bad too though. I knew all about what happened behind the scenes to that turkey sandwich I was eating or that egg breakfast sandwich.

Meat I do not eat:

Although I currently am a meat eater, it’s not much.

I hate steak. Steak makes me want to throw up. I’ve always been like this. I remember one time during my freshman year of college, I went up to NH to stay with one of my friends during Christmas break. Her dad was an awesome host and decided to make a nice home cooked meal including steak poop, veggies, and mashed potatoes.

I couldn’t say, ew that’s gross, so I ate it. And I hated every bite. I felt sick to my stomach the rest of the night.

I do not eat beef either.

Basically, the only meat I ever eat is eggs. Sometimes turkey. But mostly eggs.

Having a new mind set

I literally woke up a few days ago and I decided I didn’t want to eat meat anymore. But is that really what I wanted? When I became vegetarian the first time around, it came naturally and after about a month, meat was literally revolting to me. Let me just say that I never, ever bashed someone for eating meat. I truly believe “to each their own” and since I worked at a Subway during most of the time that I was vegetarian, touching meat did not bother me, eating it however, was a different story.

That being said, I want to go back to being vegetarian. I am even considering vegan.

I know it is a huge jump. However, I already do not eat much meat, and I don’t even drink milk unless it’s almond milk. I like vegan foods. However, I don’t think I would be 100% vegan.

Honestly, Vegans are cool.

But for me, I do not want to restrict myself from eating what I want. If I want to eat Nutella, them damn it I will. Sorry, butย it has part skim milk in it and Nutella is chocolate and just too yummy on my morning toast.

I think I am gonna go about this how I feel is best and I’m going to listen to my body 100%. I think anything pertaining to food is absolutely all trial and error. I’ll just have to see what I like best.

For starters though, I’m gonna head to Barnes & Nobles tomorrow and invest in a good vegetarian/vegan cookbook so I don’t pull another senior year of high school.

Today though, I went to Whole Foods and started to invest in some Vegan foods. I got a little bit of everything and took my time reading labels. One thing I like about veganism is (for me at least) it is teaching me a lot about food. Sometimes you don’t realize what’s really hiding in certain foods you are eating. Unless you read the ingredients on everything you put in your food cart, and if you do,ย then I’m just referring to myself!

So here are some goodies that I picked up. (FYI Vegan food is expensive. WTF.)

 

Honestly, one thing I’m worried about if Tofu. Someone help please. What the hell do I do with it? I’ve heard a lot of good things about tofu, I just have no idea how to cook it or anything, so any advice is greatly appreciated!

Alright, off to bed, lots to do tomorrow! ๐Ÿ™‚

P.S. I’m sure 95% of you don’t care, but BRUINS won tonight! woohoooo oh yahhh whaddup Game 7! ๐Ÿ˜‰

About Lisa

My name is Lisa and I am a junior in college majoring in Communication Disorders. I plan to go to graduate school for SLP. I am 20 years old and trying my best to live a fun, healthy and active lifestyle. I love to workout and I've recently found a new love for running and I will be in my first race this May. I've just started blogging, so bare with me as I try to get better at it! I enjoy blogging a lot and I love reading other people's blogs and learning about them and their lifestyle. That's about it for now, thanks for reading :-)
This entry was posted in Experiment, Food, Vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On a new quest

  1. leashieloo says:

    I had a phase awhile back where I tried to go veggie as well. Didn’t quite work out! But one thing I have been able to stick with is at least reducing the amount of meat I intake. And I’ll never pass down a good veggie burger ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Yay, vegetarianism! I’ve been a vegetarian for… (reminisces back to high school) five and a half years and I’ve never looked back. ๐Ÿ™‚ I always encourage at least a reduction of meat in a person’s diet and I’m excited that you’re thinking of giving it a go.

    As far as tofu goes, you can do just about anything! I’ve made chocolate pies from silken tofu and marinated tofu to mix in with pasta and even salads… and, I am far from superior in the cooking department.

    Best of luck with your no meat ventures! I’m excited for you. ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Lisa says:

      Thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve been doing really good so far! Actually, I kind of just jumped into veganism! I’m of course not 100% but I’m so excited because everything I bought yesterday at the grocery store is vegan! & it’s good!

Comment!