To do, or not to do?

Today I woke up late. Maybe because it’s summer, I don’t know but I can tell you that I hate it. I only hate it because I feel like it sets my whole day up weird and I just “waste” the morning.

But once I woke up, I headed to the gym because I sure as hell wasn’t going to run outside today in this 90 degree Boston heat. 😉 My entire family thinks I’m nuts for wanting to go to grad school down in Florida. I guess most New Englander’s handle snow better than heat & humidity.

I’ve been trying making a conscious effort to incorporate more cardio into my workouts so today at the gym I did:

15 minutes on the elliptical

Followed by my weight training (Chest & Tri’s today)

& another 10 minutes on the Stairmaster

Okay so it wasn’t a lot of cardio but whatever. 😉 I was planning on going for a run tonight when it cooled down anyways!

When I got home from the gym, I ate lunch, since you know breakfast was hours ago and I slept through it.

Lunch

 
BBQ Chicken, Broccoli, & Quiona. Honestly, if you haven’t tried Quiona yet, DO IT!
It’s so delicious.
 

Decisions

Recently, I’ve noticed that I’ve been missing something I did for years.

Baton Twirling

 
My grandmother twirled. My great aunt twirled. My mother twirled. I twirled.
But you know how some things are passed down in your family & you don’t enjoy it?
Well I loved to twirl.
 
I competed in NEMA competitions throughout high school and I also twirled in halftime shows & participated in numerous parades.
 
I felt like I just let twirling go once I went away to college. But now I miss it. & I recently found a place online about a competitive twirling association that is actually right down the street from my house. Maybe I’ll give it a try?
 
I feel like if I don’t give it a try, I might regret it later.
As a matter of fact, I think I’m gonna head back to the gym soon & practice in one of the raquetball courts & see how that goes.
 
 
Question: Have you ever thought of getting back into something you did when you were younger? Did you get back into it? Or did you not and now you regret it?
 
About Lisa

My name is Lisa and I am a junior in college majoring in Communication Disorders. I plan to go to graduate school for SLP. I am 20 years old and trying my best to live a fun, healthy and active lifestyle. I love to workout and I've recently found a new love for running and I will be in my first race this May. I've just started blogging, so bare with me as I try to get better at it! I enjoy blogging a lot and I love reading other people's blogs and learning about them and their lifestyle. That's about it for now, thanks for reading :-)
This entry was posted in Baton Twirling, Lunch, Quiona, Random, Uncategorized, Workout. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to To do, or not to do?

  1. I looooove quinoa! And that lunch looks really yummy! Baton twirling sounds so fun! Good luck with getting back into it!

  2. I did NEMA too! My sister owns a baton twirling studio in the area. Twirling is in my blood as well 🙂

    Yes, that was Bridgewater you saw on my blog.

    • Lisa says:

      you did NEMA too?! haha so funny! For what town?! & who is your sister? It isn’t for Elite twirling is it? & that’s so funny, I was just at bridgewater playing soccer yesterday!

  3. I’ll have to give quinoa a try; I’ve never had it before!

    I did gymnastics competitively for 11 years and miss it all the time. Unfortunately, I wasn’t allowed to go back to it, after I had a brain surgery. However, now I’ve just substituted other physical activities for gymnastics and focused my goals elsewhere. 🙂 I hope you give twirling another go, though; I did it when I was very young and am impressed by those talented and hard-working enough to do all the flips and tricks and do-das, haha.

  4. I’m one of those weirdos not a fan of quinoa. 😦

    That picture is so fun. I definitely say go for it and doing it for fun again!

  5. leashieloo says:

    I took piano lessons as a kid and took it back up in college. I’m sooo glad I did. I complained about practicing when I was younger, but now I find it soothing and enjoy it so much.

Comment!

