Experimenting with Quiona

I was bored and hungry and since it was lunch time, I decided to try to cook Quiona.

The Contenders

I’m not sure how it came out.

I don’t know how either one would taste, so being the smart girl that I am I used 1/2 a cup of each. 😉

After boiling it in 2 cups of water and 1/4 cup salt for about 15 minutes, it looked ready.

Then I sauteed chicken from yesterdays lunch along with spinach, 2 tsp. extra virgin olive oil, and Mrs. Dash, I added about 1/4 cup of the Quiona to my mix.

Then I poured it into a bowl and looked at it for a good 2 minutes before tasting it.

I mean, it looks good right?

I was pleasantly surprised with the taste. It reminded me a lot like brown rice. Some people say it’s similiar to oatmeal, but I think the texture is a lot easier to chew. (Is that weird of me to say of my beloved oatmeal?).

I googled recipes for Quiona and there was a page I found that had a ton. I think I’m gonna have to try this as breakfast instead. Maybe substitute it for oatmeal?

Plus, I was reading the Nutrition label and this bad boy has 11 grams of fiber… I think that’s the most fiber I’ve ever seen in any type of food, ever.

Let me know your thoughts. I want to use Quiona more in my diet, so it will help to know what recipes all of you like!

About Lisa

My name is Lisa and I am a junior in college majoring in Communication Disorders. I plan to go to graduate school for SLP. I am 20 years old and trying my best to live a fun, healthy and active lifestyle. I love to workout and I've recently found a new love for running and I will be in my first race this May. I've just started blogging, so bare with me as I try to get better at it! I enjoy blogging a lot and I love reading other people's blogs and learning about them and their lifestyle. That's about it for now, thanks for reading :-)
This entry was posted in Experiment, Food, Quiona. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Experimenting with Quiona

  1. Jenn E. says:

    I often make salads with quinoa. Any seasonal fresh vegetables I can find in my fridge, any dressing–it’s such a great foundation to any salad you can conceive of. I also use it instead of rice in many dishes. It’s really versatile. I am trying to remember how I last prepared it. I think I cooked in by itself, but added fresh tomatoes, green onions, corn, shrimp, black beans, cilantro, and a lime vinaigrette.

  2. Quinoa rocks as a base for veggie burgers. Choose your flavoring: sauteed mushrooms, or roasted red peppers, or caramelized onions, or anything! Combine with quinoa for a protein lift, add breadcrumbs as needed to ensure a dry mix. Then, patty up and sear on the stove.

  3. Quinoa is awesome! Such a super food! I am glad you enjoyed it.

  4. I don’t know what it is about quinoa that I just really don’t like. I actually think the chewy texture is what gets me. Funny how texture can be so different for different people. LOL

  5. leashieloo says:

    I really like quinoa, but I’ve never made it at home. I actually like the fluffy texture!

Comment!

