Roadtrip Part 1

So before I talk about our roadtrip from the beginning, I have to tell you that we are at VA beach right now! It’s beautiful down here! This morning I woke up around 8 and got dressed and headed out for a run on the boardwalk.I’m not sure how far I ran because I don’t have my Garmin with me 😦 But I did notice that I ran 10 blocks, so however far that ends up to. Then I did some plyo workouts on the beach, which felt amazing. I think I’m gonna have to leave the city and live by the beach!

Our Roadtrip Part 1

My best friend Vikki and I left for our roadtrip last Thursday, May 19th. It’s our first roadtrip ever together and so far it’s been a blast. We came from Boston, MA and so far our trip has taken us all over NJ, PA, Maryland, D.C., all over VA, then we’ll continue to Delaware.

The morning we left! Don't we look comfy? 😉

 
 
Our first destination was New Jersey (and yes it is smelly) 😉 For anyone who has driven through New England before and drove south, you know there are a few states that suck driving through. First, I’ve driven to New York a ton of times. And Connecticut is always, always the worst to drive through. You drive through it for about 3 hours. Wooff.
 
So we of course had to stop once while in Connecticut and refueld with some starbucks.
 

mmmmm' skinny iced caramel macchiato

 

Vikki's Frappachino!

 
 
Anyways! We drove to Vikki’s grandma’s hosue and were welcomed with grandma’s brownies and chocolate chip cookies! I guess all grandma’s love to make food for their grandchildren. 🙂 And I was too excited for this and forgot to snap a picture. 😉
 
Her grandma’s black cat also greeted us and was very lovey.
 
 
 
 
 
That night, we met up with Vikki’s cousin and her boyfriend and headed off to Philadelphia. Philly was pretty cool. We didn’t stay too long but it crossed another state off of my list!
 
One thing I did notice about downtown Philly is that there were a lot of sex toy stores. When I say a lot, I mean like 4 or 5 in a row. What is Philly all about anyways!? 😀
 
 

1950's Condoms

 
There was one store that had things on display from years and years ago and I thought this was pretty cool. This is what condoms looked like when you bought them back in the 50’s, or even earlier. Cool huh? 😉
 
The next day, it rained, but we were prepared for that. And even though we knew what the weather was going to be like, that didn’t stop us from going to Six Flags Great Adventure in NJ! We still had so much fun. Unfortunetly, I did go with a bunch of scaredy cats so we didn’t get to go on all of the rollercoasters. Well, I should say I didn’t get to go on all of the rollercoasters. 😦
 
But we did do other fun stuff, like taking pictures with superheros!
 

uhhhhh, what pose do we do?

 

awkward smiling again

 
 
& taking silly pictures!
 
 

"Scary" Bear 😉

 

Me & Vikki

 
& “normal” pictures
 
 
& driving through the safari!
 
The safari was so much fun and wicked cool. I especially liked the zebras and giraffe’s. They were coming right up to the car! We really thought that they were going to step on our car!
 
 

Apparently cars taste good?

 
 
 
 
 
 
That night we spent at her cousins house. & I must say, even being away for 2 days and eating such crappy, on the go food, we were feeling pretty lousy! We ate pizza, salad, and icecream at the theme park. Afterwards, I must say I felt pretty awful. When we got back to her cousins, we were motivated to do a quick run which was about 1 1/2 miles. Horrayyy. The only reason why I can’t wait to get home is so I can eat some healthy foods and get back into the gym!
 
 
The next morning we got up and got ready before heading to Baltimore to stay with my friend Aubrey. I couldn’t wait to see her! I haven’t seen her in about a year when we were both at UMASS together before we both transferred schools. Now she’s down at Towson University in Baltimore. And I have to say, I am in love with Baltimore. It was amazing.
 
 
Baltimore was so much more lively than Boston, if you can believe that. And I noticed the further down south you go, the nicer the people become. I think I’ll just leave Boston! 😉
 
We met up at Aubrey’s house around 730 pm and she drove us into the inner harbor for dinner. I love love loved inner harbor! If you haven’t been to Baltimore, please go, and please visit the inner harbor. There’s so much going on, everyone’s friendly, there’s a ton of restaurants and entertainment!
 
 

Boat on the water

 

Irish Pub we ate at- very yummy!

I noticed that I was too excited and intrigued by Baltimore that I didn’t take too many pictures. I was trying to see everything at once, and there was so much to see.  My pictures did Baltimore no justice.
 
When we got back to Aubrey’s after dinner, we just chilled out before going to bed. We had to get up bright and early for Warrior Dash!
 
After the race, we were exhausted. And honestly, a shower has never felt so good in my life. I had to wash my clothes twice before they could be worn again, but they still don’t look completely clean. Success!
 
On Monday morning, we got ready and left Aubrey’s and headed for Virginia. More updates on our roadtrip will come up soon!
 
Hope everyone’s enjoying the lovely weather 🙂 I heard even Boston has good weather! First time in 2011 😉
 
 
About Lisa

My name is Lisa and I am a junior in college majoring in Communication Disorders. I plan to go to graduate school for SLP. I am 20 years old and trying my best to live a fun, healthy and active lifestyle. I love to workout and I've recently found a new love for running and I will be in my first race this May. I've just started blogging, so bare with me as I try to get better at it! I enjoy blogging a lot and I love reading other people's blogs and learning about them and their lifestyle. That's about it for now, thanks for reading :-)
This entry was posted in Animals, Food, Fun. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Roadtrip Part 1

  1. leashieloo says:

    I can’t believe how close those animals get to the car! Looks like you had an amazing time!

  2. Aubrey says:

    Loved reading about your adventures! loved teh visit from you girls! come back again soon so we can experience the nightlife of the inner harbor 🙂

Comment!

