Weighted Vest

Hello ! So if you read my post yesterday, you knew I had a lovely visit from Mickey Mouse. 😉 I still haven’t had a chance to clean my room yet for a couple reasons. First, I know it is going to be an all day event. And second, I was assigned to clean the kitchen yesterday by my mom which took  2 hours. 😦 But, after this post I swear I’m going to start cleaning my room!

So I came across this website: bodyrock.tv. Check it out! This girl posts all kinds of fitness workouts, recipes, and “challenges”. I came across one challenge that stuck out to me which was to basically earn your carbs. I’ve heard before that exercising first thing in the morning can help you lose body fat but it always seemed to difficult because I’m generally really hungry in the morning. But I’ve decided to give it a try anyways. So for the past few days, I wake up and start my day with a cup of green tea (and today I had a small cup of coffee too with sugarfree creamer) and MPOWER. Then I’ve been doing Insanity workouts after I have my tea and supplement, but today I felt like going to the gym instead.

So today’s workout looked like this:

My warm-up was Insanity inspired. (Not including jump rope) & lasted for 10 minutes:

Jogging/sprinting in place

Jumping  jacks

Push ups

High knees with jump rope

123 Heisman

Then I moved on to weights where today I did Chest & Tri’s. My weight training is nothing spectacular and I’m sure all you gym busy bee’s do most of these exercises as well:

Chest Flye

Chest Press

Bench Press

Tricep dips

Skull Crushers

Tricep Extension

I did 3 sets of each exercise. On lighter weights, I always do higher reps, usually 12-15. On bigger weights I always aim for reps of 10.

Once I finished a set of 3, I used my speed/weighted jump rope (simply amazing,btw) for about 1-2 minutes before moving on to the next exercise. This really helps to keep your heart rate up during a workout.

Then I ended with some simple ab exercises & some stretching.

When I got home, I couldn’t wait too have breakfast! (Yay, I earned my carbs! 😉 )

Breakfast!

 
Honestly, I understand this might not be the ideal breakfast for most people, but I love eggs. I eat them pretty much everyday and I’m still not sick of them! 😉
All together it consisted of: 1 egg, 3 egg whites, 2 slices turkey bacon, sliced avocado and I slice of Ezekiel bread.
 
 
After breakfast, I wanted to do a little run. Maybe because the only cardio I did today at the gym was jumping rope? Anyways, I was feeling ambitious and used my brothers weighted vest. However, it is an adjustable 40 lb vest, and I altered it to 25 lbs. 😉 That’s still a lot to run with though!
 
 
Yay for being crazy!

Side note: I look extremely short. I’m 5’3 1/2 (I’m pretty sure), that’s not too short, right? 😀

 
You can’t even tell I’m wearing a weighted vest because it’s black and I was wearing a black shirt! But let me tell you, I was and I ran to the end of my street and back which was about a 1/2 mile. It was a challenge, but it wasn’t impossible.
 
I actually really want to try to incorporate this into my routine more often! I bet it will help increase my endurance and strength a ton!
 
 
Okay, I’m off. Lots of cleaning and errands to do for the rest of the day!
 
 
Have you ever tried running with a weighted vest? Did you like it or no?
If you haven’t tried it, would you want to?
 
 
 
*******By the way! One of my favorite bloggers, Corey @ RunnersCookie is having a giveaway! Check it out! 🙂
About Lisa

My name is Lisa and I am a junior in college majoring in Communication Disorders. I plan to go to graduate school for SLP. I am 20 years old and trying my best to live a fun, healthy and active lifestyle. I love to workout and I've recently found a new love for running and I will be in my first race this May. I've just started blogging, so bare with me as I try to get better at it! I enjoy blogging a lot and I love reading other people's blogs and learning about them and their lifestyle. That's about it for now, thanks for reading :-)
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Workout. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weighted Vest

  1. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! says:

    Woah that weighted vest sounds like it would be intense to run with! And I totally agree about having eggs for breakfast (or dinner!)!! I love ’em too!

  2. Courtney says:

    Way to be strong! I’ve never used a weighted vest, but I see people do it at the gym, and some of them look like they want to cry or cuss… or both simultaneously.

Comment!

