Bikram Yoga

Heyyyyy everyone! I’ve had a successful start to spring break. It started with of course working two double shifts waitressing (woooooooooo). It’s hard to think that it’s already been a year since I went to Montreal for spring break! It was cold, but it was SO much fun. Especially if you’re not 21 yet πŸ˜‰ Anyways, I made some pretty decent tips at work. But working double shifts two days in a row is a real pain! One table I had was really nice. It was a mother and two daughters and when I went upΒ  to greet the table one of the girls said to me, “You are sooooo pretty!” haha πŸ™‚

So besides working, you really haven’t missed much! Here’s what todays food included:

Breakfast!

This combo is probably one of my favorite breakfast meals! On the left is scrambeld egg whites mixed with spinach and on the right is plain oatmeal topped with my favorite Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter, Banana, Chia Seeds and Flax Seeds. πŸ™‚

After Breakfast, I got ready while hanging out/watching Spongebob with Ryleigh! (My 4yr old niece).

Since I was watching her today, and the weather in MA decided to be decent, we went out! I took her to my grandma’s house to visit πŸ™‚

πŸ™‚

Β 

oh, isn't she lovely? πŸ˜‰

Haha, she’s too much. We always have a fun time together! I really enjoy being an auntie. πŸ™‚ And I’m wicked excited because my other brother and his girlfriend are having a baby in May! I’ll be an auntie to another neice, yayy πŸ™‚

When we got to grandma’s house, one of my cousins, Alicia,Β was there also visiting. So since it was so nice out, Alicia and I did a nice 3 mile walk that was a big loop. It was fun to chat and catch up!

After the walk, I made myself a turkey burger “wrap” for lunch

mmmmmmmm'

Β 

so, so delicious

Β 

I just made a turkey burger, cut it into 4 slices, threw some spinach leaves and lettuce on it and some spicy mustard and ta-da! πŸ˜‰ So good!

Anyways, on to the main topic! Bikram Yoga πŸ˜€

I have been contemplating for a while now whether or not I wanted to try this type of yoga out. For those of you who are not aware, Bikram yoga is yoga comprised of 26 poses that are done in a heated room of about 90 degrees. Soo hot! I was sweating so much! Sorry for the gross details πŸ˜‰

But uhm, it gets a littler grosser.

After class, I went into the ladies changing room to grab my stuff. It is a TINY room. There’s a variety in age of women (and men) that go to the class. But on my way out of the changing room, I turned to head towards to door and there was a woman (middle aged) standing there with only a BRA on. There were about 6 other women in this tiny room and it was like none of them minded. Maybe this is just me, but I would not be standing ass naked in a room with people I didn’t know. Is this some kind of yoga tradition or normality that I’m unaware of? HAHA. I think I was just so shocked at what I was seeing I didn’t know what to do or what to think.

Overall though, it was an awesome experience and I think I even going back to class tomorrow morning! I felt so good afterwards and I would encourage people to try it! If you are thinking of attending a Bikram yoga class I would suggest to bring the following:

  • Two Bath towels- 1 for during the class, andΒ  1 to dry yourself off afterwards
  • Yoga mat
  • Tons of water
  • AΒ change of clothes
  • Wear light clothes. Some people only wore shorts (men). Some women even just wore swimming shorts and a sports bra. Whatever makes you the most comfortable!

After yoga I was STARVING. I came home and was literally craving peanut butter. So I made myself a slice of toast with peanut butter, chia seeds and flax seeds.

peanut buttaaaaaaah!

And I also had one of my Shakeology shakes, in my favorite Lucy cup!

PB and Shake πŸ˜‰

P.S. Wicked sorry about the awful pictures! I had to take pictures with my Blackberry today because of course I succeded in losing my camera once again!

But that’s it for now. I’m gonna go shower since I sweated profusely during yoga before my soccer game! I know this may seem weird but whatever! Oh and hopefully, I don’t get kicked in the face again with the soccer ball 😦 Bye!

About Lisa

My name is Lisa and I am a junior in college majoring in Communication Disorders. I plan to go to graduate school for SLP. I am 20 years old and trying my best to live a fun, healthy and active lifestyle. I love to workout and I've recently found a new love for running and I will be in my first race this May. I've just started blogging, so bare with me as I try to get better at it! I enjoy blogging a lot and I love reading other people's blogs and learning about them and their lifestyle. That's about it for now, thanks for reading :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bikram Yoga

  1. runyogarepeat says:

    LOVE yoga! I’ve only been to hot yoga once, but I love my power yoga classes. That’s so awkward about that lady – I always change in gym stalls.

Comment!

