Spring Break!

Hey everyone ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s spring break for this college gal ๐Ÿ˜‰ except, in Massachusetts, it doesn’t really feel like spring at all :-/ I have been running outside, but since New England weather enjoys to fluctuate too much, I don’t run as often as I want to be.

So today I did a kettlebell workout in my living room ๐Ÿ™‚ It looked like this:

Warm Up:

  • Jog in place – 30 seconds
  • Jumping jacks- 30 seconds
  • Heisman- 30 seconds
  • 1-2-3 Heisman- 30 seconds
  • High Knees- 30 seconds
  • Butt Kicks- 30 seconds
  • 1 minute rest and repeat warm up

Kettlebell (25 lbs):

  • Cleans – 10 on each side
  • 5 burpees
  • Cleans with squat and overhead military press – 10 on each side
  • 10 burpees
  • One handed swings – 10 on each side
  • 10 Burpees
  • Sumo Squat – 20
  • Plank – 30 seconds
  • Swings (both arms) – 20
  • Mountain Climbers – 30 seconds
  • Turkish Get Up – 1 on each side

If you are unfamiliar with any of the above workouts and want to learn them, there are a ton of videos on youtube!

The rest of my morning was hanging out with my 4 year old niece, Ryleigh. ๐Ÿ™‚

Isn't she just precious? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Wouldn’t you love being woken up by this face? Haha, this picture is actually from like a year ago but it’s funny and made me laugh. & I’m sure you laughed too. You’re welcome. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Today’s Lunch was puuurty darn delicious ๐Ÿ™‚

Lunch!

Turkey burger with lowfat cheddar cheese, avocado, spinach and mustard on an Ezekiel english muffin! Cauliflower and broccoli mix and an apple!

buuuuurger

Oh and I have a new recipe to share! ๐Ÿ™‚ I attempted at making protein bars and they were a success! I followed a recipe from oxygenmag.com

All the gooods ๐Ÿ˜‰

ย 

Here’s the breakdown:Ready in 40 minutes โ€ข Makes 12 servings

3 1/2 cups rolled oats

1 1/2 cups powdered nonfat milk

4 scoops chocolate protein powder

1 cup sugar-free syrup (I actually forgot to put this one in!)

2 egg whites

1/4 cup orange juice

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 cup apple sauce

ย I also added chia seeds and flax seeds!

1. Preheat oven to 325ยบF.

2.ย  Mix first 3 ingredients in a bowl.

3.ย  Add remaining ingredients and mix well (it should have the texture of cookie dough).

4.ย  Spread onย a cookie sheet, and bake until edges are browned, about 25 minutes.

5.ย  Cut into 10 portions.

Nutrients per serving: Calories: 190, Total Fats: 2 g, Saturated Fat: 0 g, Trans Fat: 0 g, Cholesterol: 10 mg, Sodium: 360 mg, Total Carbohydrates: 25 g, Dietary Fiber: 2 g, Sugars: 9 g, Protein: 17 g, Iron: 1 mg(www.oxygenmag.com/heather)ย 

Bakin'

mmmmmm

Ready for eatin'!

ย 

I really enjoyed these! But next time I won’t forget the syrup! ๐Ÿ˜‰
Well, I’m off to bed. Iย probably won’t be able to post until Monday. It’s unfortunetly the weekend (I think I’m the only one upset about this), which means another saturday and sunday spent working double shifts waitressing. :-/ Awful ! Goodnight everyone!
About Lisa

My name is Lisa and I am a junior in college majoring in Communication Disorders. I plan to go to graduate school for SLP. I am 20 years old and trying my best to live a fun, healthy and active lifestyle. I love to workout and I've recently found a new love for running and I will be in my first race this May. I've just started blogging, so bare with me as I try to get better at it! I enjoy blogging a lot and I love reading other people's blogs and learning about them and their lifestyle. That's about it for now, thanks for reading :-)
This entry was posted in Random, Workout. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spring Break!

  1. Tara says:

    Awesome workout! Kettlebells get my heart rate through the roof! My favorite move (I don’t know if it has a name) with them is a squat, and as you come out you swing out the kettlebell and step forward into another squat. I do laps around my kitchen like this!

    I love protein powder recipes! I need to try these. I’m pretty sure I have all the ingredients too!

    • Lisa says:

      Yes! I think those are called figure 8’s! But those are awesome too! Any kettlebell move is pretty awesome and such a good workout!

  2. I never thought to make my own protein bars – what a great idea! I hope you’re having a good spring break, and good luck with your double shift. You deserve something fun after that!!

Comment!

