“Black Eyes Are Cute”.

Judging by the title, I’m sure you assume my soccer game didn’t go very well. I’m sitting here typing with one eye and the other closed with ice on it. Horray! So I wasn’t really feelin’ it tonight considering I ate that gelato before the game (lesson learned). But, right at the end of the first half, literally with 30 seconds left, I get kicked drilled with a soccer ball to my right eye. I can hold my own pretty well and I didn’t fall. But the ball came from a guy about my age and who was obviously a skilled soccer player. So you can just imagine the force behind a 21 year old males kick. It all happened so fast and in a split second, I heard what sounded like a million people say “OHHHHHH!” ,”OMG!”, the ref’s whistle blow, and I was covering my eye. I felt surrounded by people but I just wanted to get off the field. I’m not one to enjoy attention on the field when it comes it injuries. Some people thought I would of broken a bone because it looked like the ball hit me that hard, and it did, while others thought it was serious enough for me to go to the ER. I just shook it off, cried a little (to myself of course, since I don’t like a scene, and I am absolutely not one to show tears in front of an opponent), and sat out the rest of the game with a bag of ice covering my eye.

I took a little break and got up and walked a little bit to see if I would be able to drive home safely. I wandered to the bathroom to take a look at myself in the mirror.

Here’s what I saw…

haha, this is awful. I got hit in the right eye, so I couldn’t open it at all. And I’m not too sure why my left eye started getting lazy, but it did. Don’t I just look fabulous?

Right now I can laugh at myself, but I took this pictures almost right after it happened and I regained my vision somewhat and my breath. But at the time I took these pictures I was a mess. A sweaty, crying, almost black eye mess.

So for the rest of the game I just relaxed and focused on keeping ice on my eye. At the end of the game when we all got in line to “shake hands”, I got in line with the rest of my teammates. One kid on the other team shook my hand and said to me, “Black eyes are cute”. So with that, it made me feel better and I laughed. 🙂

Safety First: I immediately called my mother, who is a nurse and she did the whole mother speech and asked a million questions. I got home safely, thanks to my friend Casey who followed me home.

I’ll update tomorrow. If i’m not better, my mom says she’s bringing me to the hospital. Horray.

About Lisa

My name is Lisa and I am a junior in college majoring in Communication Disorders. I plan to go to graduate school for SLP. I am 20 years old and trying my best to live a fun, healthy and active lifestyle. I love to workout and I've recently found a new love for running and I will be in my first race this May. I've just started blogging, so bare with me as I try to get better at it! I enjoy blogging a lot and I love reading other people's blogs and learning about them and their lifestyle. That's about it for now, thanks for reading :-)
This entry was posted in Injuries. Bookmark the permalink.

Comment!

